The Diocese of Leeds
music pages

Search our database to find archived news.

Enter keyword(s) or date:

View all archived news more »

Concerts

Choral Events at Leeds Cathedral | Choral Events at Other Venues

Leeds International Organ Festival
Admission free

2019

Monday 13th May, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – Darius Battiwalla (Leeds City Organist)

Wednesday 15th May, 7.00-8.00 pm
Wheeler Hall, Leeds Cathedral
Lecture – Professor Francis O'Gorman (University of Edinburgh): ‘Endless breath? The pipe organ and immortality'

Sunday 19th May, 4.00-5.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organists’ Training Programme platform concert

Monday 20th May, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – Thomas Leech (Diocese of Leeds)

Tuesday 21st May, 7.00-8.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Evening concert – Teena Lyle (percussion) & David Pipe (organ)

Saturday 1st June, 12.30-5.30 pm (workshop); 7.30 pm (performance)
Wheeler Hall, Leeds Cathedral
'Come and Sing' workshop day: Haydn’s Missa Sancti Nicolai and Insanae et vanae curse with David Pipe

Monday 3rd June, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – Nigel Ogden (Theatre organist)

Monday 3rd June, 7.00-9.00 pm
Ossett Town Hall
Organ masterclass: ’The Theatre Organ' – Nigel Ogden

Wednesday 5th June, 7.00-8.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Evening concert – The Clothworkers Consort of Leeds

Monday 10th June, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – Anthony Hammond (Concert organist)

Tuesday 11th June, 6.30-8.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Concert and lecture – Sir James MacMillan ‘in conversation’ with Richard Mantle OBE, preceded by a concert given by Notre Dame Children’s Choir and Leeds Cathedral Choir

Monday 17th June, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – Benjamin Saunders (Diocese of Leeds)

Monday 24th June, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – Ourania Gassiou (Athens Concert Hall)

Wednesday 26th June, 7.00-8.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Evening concert – Baroque cantatas and arias (Christopher O’Gorman, tenor; Garreth Romain, counter-tenor; David Pipe, organ)

Monday 1st July, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – Thomas Heywood (Concert organist, Melbourne, Australia)

Monday 1st July, 7.00-8.00 pm
Clothworkers Centenary Hall, University of Leeds
Evening concert – International Medieval Congress: Leeds Cathedral Choir and Jane Flynn (organ)

Monday 3rd July, 7.00-9.00 pm
Leeds Minster
Organ masterclass: ’Transcriptions' – Thomas Heywood

Monday 8th July, 1.10-2.00 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Organ recital – David Pipe (Diocese of Leeds)

Wednesday 10th July, 10.00 am – 2.30 pm
Leeds Cathedral
Primary schools’ organ workshop day

An excellent listing for national organ recitals can be found at organrecitals.com 

^ Back to top


Events at Leeds Cathedral
Admission free except where indicated

2019

Sunday 24th March 2019 - 4.00pm
LEEDS CATHEDRAL
Concert by the Leeds Trinity Cathedral Boys and Girls Choirs and the Leeds Cathedral Childrens Choir

Tuesday 11 June 2019 - 6.30pm
LEEDS CATHEDRAL
Concert by Cathedral Girls Choir and Notre Dame Children's Choir
Followed by discussion between Sir James MacMillan and Richard Mantle OBE

Sunday 16 June 2019 - 2.30pm
LEEDS CATHEDRAL
Diocesan Girls Choir Concert

Sunday 23 June 2019 - 2.30pm
LEEDS CATHEDRAL
Diocesan Boys Choir Concert

Sunday 30th June 2019 - 4.00pm
LEEDS CATHEDRAL
Gala Concert featuring the Leeds Trinity Cathedral Boys and Girls Choirs, the Leeds Cathedral Childrens Choir and school choirs from the Diocese of Leeds Schools Singing Programme

 ^ Back to top


Events at Other Venues

2019

Sunday 10 February 2019 - 1.00pm
ST PATRICK'S CHURCH HUDDERSFIELD
Huddersfield Boys' Choir Pre-Tour Recital

Saturday 16 February 2019 - 7.00pm
OUR LADY OF REFUGE CROMER, NORFOLK
Huddersfield Boys' Choir Concert

Sunday 17 February 2019 - 11.00am
THE CATHEDRAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST NORWICH
Huddersfield Boys' Choir Mass

Tuesday 26 March 2019 - 6.00pm
ALL SAINTS CATHOLIC COLLEGE HUDDERSFIELD
Huddersfield Youth Choirs Singing Festival with local primary schools

Saturday 30 March 2019 - 7.30pm
BRADFORD GRAMMAR SCHOOL
Carmina Burana with Bradford Catholic Youth Choirs and Bradford Festival Choral Society

Monday 1 July 2019 - 7.00pm
CLOTHWORKERS CONCERT HALL
Leeds Medieval Congress Concert with the Cathedral Boys and Girls Choirs

^ Back to top

 

More Events »

Cathedral Lunchtime Concerts


To join the choirs and for all other
enquiries please contact:

Music Administrator
Leeds Cathedral
Great George Street
Leeds LS2 8BE

Tel: 0113 244 8634
Email: click here